Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
Oct 13th, 2024, 9:43pm
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Carbent Seat Mount Failure (Read 6383 times)
jayg
Five Star Member

rbent member

Carbent Seat Mount Failure
Apr 17th, 2013, 7:24pm

As I was transporting my Carbent high racer to the Lancaster Country Ride, last Saturday, I heard a cracking sound as I turned a corner and the rear of the bike slid about 15". I had the fork installed in a fork mount on the floor of my van and the front of the bike secured with a tie-down to keep the bike in an upright position. Inspected the bike at Lancaster and couldn't see any damage, so I went ahead and rode it 42 miles. Last Tuesday, I started riding it at WRL and noticed the seat was moving back and forth as I pedaled. Inspection revealed the carbon fiber seat mount was not attached to the carbon tube frame member. It's a glued joint (aircraft grade epoxy). After conferring with the manufacturer, Bent Up Cycles, determined that the carbon frame tube had delaminated. The bike is 6 months out of warranty, so I'm up the creek. I'm not going to spend hundreds of dollars to send it to the manufacturer for a repair attempt and certainly not thousands for a new frame. Going to attempt to repair it myself with the epoxy the manufacturer originally used to attach the seat mount to the frame (Costs about $90) and hope the tube does not delaminate further. Guess I should have purchased a CA 2.0.   Sad

W-shaped seat mount detached from frame tube.

Email   IP Logged
dd5339
Five Star Member

rbent member

Re: Carbent Seat Mount Failure
Reply #1 - Apr 17th, 2013, 7:46pm

Ouch!  That stinks.

Semper Fi

Email   IP Logged
rmillay
Five Star Member

rbent member; go
Clowns!

Reply #2 - Apr 17th, 2013, 7:48pm