Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
Jun 26th, 2024, 1:21pm
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Saturday RBM Allen ride (Read 1155 times)
FlyingLaZBoy

'16 ICE SprintX fs,
'16 Rocket, '12 KHS
Mocha

Saturday RBM Allen ride
Mar 22nd, 2008, 10:50pm

I saw a email by a guy who lives in Rockwall who said he was going to ride to the RBM 9AM ride, and was planning to average 20 on the way, do most of the RBM ride, then cut back to Rockwall...  So for the heck of it, I took him up on it -- I've never done one of the RBM rides before.

Mark rode across 66 from Rockwall, and I met him here in Rowlett at 7:45, and we boogied on over to RBM, holding a consistent 20-22 along the way, for the 18 miles -- going across 66 to Pleasant Valley/Buckingham, up 1st/Beltline then north to Arapaho past 75 to Mimosa and up.  So I was already well worked out when we arrived, but we had about 20 minutes until the ride left.

It was crowded at RBM, being such a nice morning...  and of course, I was the ONLY 'bent there...  not unexpectedly  Wink .  I met a couple of Mark's friends, and talked to Woody for a bit.  Shortly after 9, a group of 75-100 riders took off... This was the "Allen" ride, advertised as 36 miles at ~18 mph.  I hung towards the back, just getting the feel of the group -- there were a lot of starts and stops, and yo-yo-ing, with the group being that big.  We went up to Renner and across eastbound.  At the Plano Rd. stoplight, one guy up front wobbled left on his startup, and got clipped by a car side mirror as they were starting up -- nobody hurt, nothing damaged, but it was a bit tense for a minute...  Once we started up again, the group as a whole was doing about 18...