Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
May 13th, 2024, 7:11am
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Pedals (Read 2899 times)
Cookie

rbent member

Pedals
Aug 20th, 2007, 10:00am

Hi all:
I am a NEWBE to this site and to Recumbent bikes. I guess to be more accurate I'm new to serious biking. Been into hiking (backpacking) , short and long distant trails for several years. I am now tooking at doing some serious road biking.
While I was at the bike shop the other day I noticed there were a ton of different pedals available ( in design and price )   .  I am looking at getting a Rans Stratus XP or LE bike. Any suggestions out there, that might help me out, would be appreciated. Smiley

Cookie

Cookie
Use to walk but Now I ride
2007 Rans Stratus XP

Bent in Granbury
Email   IP Logged
robert.j

rbent member

Re: Pedals
Reply #1 - Aug 20th, 2007, 11:23am

I've been happy with SPD cleats.  This is a common format for mountain biking and shoes are a lot more comfortable.  SPD cleats are recessed into the bottom of the shoe so you can walk in them.  I'm using Shimano PDM324 pedals that are SPD on one side and open cage on the other, handy for starting up hills where you might not have time to get in cleats till you get up a little speed.  They should be $75, more or less.

If you're in to nothing but speed you might want to go with some other cleat type and road bike shoes.  They're a lot stiffer and will transmit a little more power to the pedals.  Many different formats are available.  I'm sure someone else will make a good suggestion.
I'm a little more of a "comfort" type guy!
Good luck finding something, both bike and pedals.  I don't know anyone who's had a Stratus XP that isn't very happy with it.  If you'd be interested in a used XP let me know.  I might know of one that's available and in perfect shape.

Robert Johnson
Bacchetta Corsa
Ventana Mtn Bike