Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
May 15th, 2024, 11:47am
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
rbent shorts (Read 2769 times)
Bud_Bent

rbent shorts
Mar 16th, 2007, 8:25pm

I'm not sure if there's much interest in this or not; I'll just throw it out there. Greg and others had told me that rowing shorts were great for recumbent riding, so this week I ordered two pairs from Sew Sporty. Lycra rowing shorts like the DryFlex shorts I ordered, are just like any other lycra compression shorts, except they have double material in back. That's a nice place for double material for rowers, and recumbent riders, too.

I don't wear cycling shorts, so I can't compare the DryFlex shorts to them. What I can compare them to is the Insport lycra compression shorts I've been wearing on my bike for a couple of years. For those who haven't seen the Insport shorts (I'm wearing them in the Corsa photo in the Bud's Bikes thread in the Photos forum), they are long, almost-to-the-knee, compression running shorts, that look pretty much like cycling shorts, but don't have padding. The size large DryFlex shorts fit both Rose and I. They fit bigger than the size large Insport shorts. They aren't loose, but there isn't nearly as much stretching going on as there was with the Insport shorts. They are also about 1 1/2 inches shorter than the Insport shorts. The lycra in front seems a bit lighter than the Insport shorts, but of course the double material makes the lycra in back heavier than the Insport shorts. Because they aren't padded, I've always worn thin athletic briefs under the Insport shorts (tmi?), and feel like they are needed under the DryFlex shorts, as well.