Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
May 14th, 2024, 6:53pm
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
HHH Training - 1st ride (Read 3107 times)
Hurricane Dan

Boom chika wow
wow...

HHH Training - 1st ride
Jun 13th, 2009, 10:54am

So training ride #1 is in the bag.  Feels good.  I'm trying (REAL hard) to take it easy since this is my first year on the bike.  Had a little knee pain on the 42 miler at GDB Lancaster so I decided to back off to train for the HHH.  Yes, I know it's not an MS, brevet or any other french word for "idiot who doesn't know when to stop", but it's still a stretch for me and I'd like to do it without pain.  So I started with 30 miles and plan on riding 10% more every Saturday.  That will put me at 78 miles the weekend before HHH.  And of course, I'm commuting twice a week in the heat also.  Its just 12.5 miles each way but it lets me work on intervals, spinning and try to build up speed.  Today I rode from Main St. in Frisco down to RBM in Richardson and back and maintained 14.4 mph stopping at seemingly every light on Ohio.  Had a nice conversation with a guy on a wedgie for about a mile.  He claimed his average speed was 17.5.  I told him mine stays around 14.5.  Strange thing though.  When we separated at the light, he couldn't maintain the 21 mph I was doing (must have been downhill) and I felt way too good about it.  Why is it so much fun to leave a DF behind?  Must be recumbent man syndrome.   Smiley  Anyway, it was a BEAUTIFUL morning.  Anyone who needs to get between Richardson/Plano and Frisco, take Ohio.  Its REALLY quiet and makes for a rather peaceful ride.

Happy cycling!  Smiley

« Last Edit: Jun 13th, 2009, 10:55am by Hurricane Dan »  

Happiness is riding home into the sunset.
Email   IP Logged
aikigreg

recumbent ninja

Re: HHH Training - 1st ride
Reply #1 - Jun 13th, 2009, 11:12am