Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
Sep 28th, 2024, 11:21am
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
PBA Popsicle ride (Read 7736 times)
Killer Bee
Five Star Member

CA2.0 proto type

PBA Popsicle ride
May 19th, 2009, 10:22pm

Bryan, Shellene & I rode the PBA Popsicle ride tonight. Thank you Bryan & Shellene for inviting me. AND I didn't even get to ride with that much. How rude of me. Smiley

We started off from the Tom Thumb shopping Center at Renner & Custer shortly after 6:00pm. Bryan & Shellene  suggested we ride with the "B" group-19-21 mph avg. I had no problem with that as I have very little experience in riding in packs. I'm not sure how many riders, I would guess about 30-40 for the "B" group.

We left out of the parking lot headed through Richardson. I was taking it easy & riding behind Shellene ,while Bryan was out front leading the pack(madman). At one of the intersections ,a stop light separate the pack. Bryan fell back to check on Shellene. We eventually headed out toward east Plano & I was feeling a little more comfortable with riding in the pack. Riding through a residential area, I hear Byran call my name, he rides to the front of the pack & I follow him. We lead the pack for a few miles.

Then as were coming up on a fast descent, a hammerhead roadie challenges me(on a downhill). Duh! He lasted a few seconds as I reached 42.5 mph. From the point on ,I lost Bryan(I think he said he falling back to check on Shellene) & stayed up with the lead pack.

Some of the route shares the same roads as the Richardson Wild Ride. During a return trip from Murphy, we head back to Richardson, we saw an unsettling site.  We saw an ambulance & cyclists gathered around a fallen cyclist. One of the "A" group riders touched wheels with another slower rider which caused the crash(who knows what really happened).