Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
Apr 19th, 2024, 5:40am
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
10 years, 61,506 miles (Read 2565 times)
Bud_Bent

10 years, 61,506 miles
Sep 10th, 2014, 6:05am

Today's blog post:

On September 10th, 2004, 10 years ago today, UPS delivered a box to my front door which contained a China Mascot Tsunami recumbent bicycle. After some assembly (and several wobbly starts), I was pedaling a bicycle for the first time in my adult life. In the 10 years since then, I have ridden 61,506 miles. Here is my mileage by year:

2004 -   930   miles
2005 - 5,013.7 miles
2006 - 5,044.6 miles
2007 - 6,161   miles
2008 - 6,708   miles
2009 - 7,440.9 miles
2010 - 7,555.4 miles
2011 - 7,519   miles
2012 - 7,224.6 miles
2013 - 5,034.4 miles
2014 - 3,804.6 miles

After I started riding, it didn't take long at all for me to realize that I still loved riding a bicycle just as much as I did when I was nine years old, and I decided I wasn't going to just get fit, I was going to get very fit. Over the years, my riding style has kept changing. Such is life. I started out very slow and easy. I was 53 years old when I started riding, just one year younger than my father was when he died of a heart attack, already 5 years older than my grandfather was when he died of a heart attack, just a year past quitting a longtime cigar smoking habit, and still 35 pounds or so overweight (down 5 pounds from a year earlier), so I didn't need a doctor to tell me that I should start slowly. Those first rides were an easy 3 1/2 miles on a bike trail, and I slowly built up from there.