Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
rbent - Recumbent Bike Enthusiasts of North Texas
Apr 19th, 2024, 6:31am
News: Want to join the rbent Forum? See this thread.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 28
Send Topic Print
Introduce yourself! (Read 197334 times)
Bud_Bent

Introduce yourself!
Jul 30th, 2008, 7:18pm

The forum is getting so many members now, let's do a sticky thread where everyone can introduce themselves. Tell as much or little about yourself as you like.

I'm 57 years old (as of the date of this post) and live in Arlington with my wife, Rose (Rose Pedal on the forum), and our two Chihuahuas. Our kids have already grown up and flown the nest. I work as a CNC maintenance technician, 9 hours a day, 5 days a week, so my riding is strictly evenings and weekends.

I've been on a 'bent since September, 2004. Back issues caused me to choose recumbents to ride. In addition to the bikes in my signature, I also ride an EZ Tandem with my wife. I do quite a few Fort Worth Bicycling Association club rides, as well as randonneuring rides with the Lone Star Randonneurs. I also try to ride two or three weekday evenings every week, starting either at home, or at the Joe Pool Lake dam, which is nearby.

I really concentrated on getting stronger and faster in 2007, doing more hill climbing and upping my annual riding miles to 6,000, and racing with the Reclining Flyers 4 man team at The Texas Time Trials in the fall, then gave all those gains back with serious health issues during the winter and spring.

I joined the rbent yahoo group in late 2004, then when spammers took over early in 2007, and the group moderators couldn't be found, I started this forum. Thanks to some very friendly, outgoing, and helpful members, it has become a great source of information for North Texas recumbent riders. There are riders here of all sizes, ages, speeds, and styles, and we welcome input from all of them.